top of page

The Start Of It All


I had been bullied in elementary school. It seems that almost all stories start that way, but I swear it is the origin of my maturity and had caused my hatred for joyous things in life like reading, writing, and even just living. After I left most of the bullies behind I went to a new school for middle school and was a loner.

It started with my English teacher's assignment. My class had to read 40 books by the end of the school year as a final grade and by the time winter break came in December I had only read one book- I used spark notes for the journal entry- and half of a children's book. I was lying and saying that it was a chapter book, but of course my teacher found out! Everyone in the class was a bit harsh as they attacked me, but in a way they were right. Reading isn't hard or bad and I decided to give it a try. "Alleigant" by Veronica Roth released that October and everyone was still buzzing about the trilogy and the recent movie announcement. I sat down with book one after buying it from Walmart that night and after only 36 hours I finished the first book. I was amazed by the story telling and the ability of details in one's mind. Instantly I started the sequel and finished the trilogy within the time of that same week. Soon following the Divergent series was The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner- which just began getting popular- and Uglies.

I became addicted with reading and the stories that other people had to tell, but when I sat back and thought to myself I wondered, How hard is writing a book? I had started brain storming ideas and bouncing them off of my teacher. She loved my imagination and pushed me towards trying it. Two awful "novels" if I can call them that later I found my soul book. I began writing and fell in love with the characters and the world, the originality of the story line, but my happiness ended during the summer going into eighth grade. My mom touched the computer and it shut down with the 50,000 word document. I was furious and ditched writing.

For freshman year of high school I went to a different school in the theater major. I was away from the bullies and mean kids in my hometown, but I was also away from the friends I made in eighth grade. Of course being at a new school I was able to meet new people, but in the same sense I met new bullies, more mean people, and the thing about bullies is that they aren't always students. My theater teacher at the time was a retired Broadway extra who had an obsession with his glory days. I was his puppet for every two-hour day of setting up lights, I was the butt to every one of his rude jokes, and I was the resilient kid against every stab from his words. That is until I cracked. It had been at least two years since I cried so hard. I couldn't stop shaking as I begged my mother to come home, to go back to my old school, and she told me to stick through it, suck it up, and be strong. As mean as it may seem, I love her for that advice. I came up with a new book idea and started private messaging my old teacher. She fell in love with the start of my passion again, and after three months of writing "The Rise Of Titanium" was finished and I had all of summer break to enjoy. I took a short break while my middle school English teacher started to edit the book.

Book two was written by the time I finished editing the first book, and after months and months of trying to get published, getting rejected, attempting to getting a literary agent, than failing miserably; I decided to self-publish. After fighting with Amazon for a month or two my book was released by December 31st, 2017- more than two years after its initial first draft being completed. And now I try to write a little bit everyday! I keep reading for inspiration, and sometimes make YouTube videos for fans! I hope you find an interest in my book and purchase it on amazon!

Until next time, X's and O's

-Zachary James


bottom of page