top of page

Bookcon, Big Book News, & Graduation!


I've graduated high school!!! I can't believe it; its finally happened. For almost five years I have waited for that day to come. I've watched all of my friends fly into the world, some fell, some soared, but almost all of them have found their way and I can't wait to find mine. I can't wait to fly among them and follow my dreams through cerulean skies and puffy white clouds.

That side note alone, ahahah, I have officially settled into summer. Writing is full time during the week and I work on the weekends, but before this, before I began this crazy adventure I went to bookcon! That's actually where I have met many of you, Newsletter subscibers. For all of you newcomers... WELCOME! HELLO! BONJOUR! SHALOM! HOLA!

I'm so happy that almost 42 new people have joined from that weekend alone. Whether you purchased my books or not, thank you for your interest and talking with me. That experience, being beside an amazing and kind author (JULIA <3) had given me such a boost of confidence. She helped me through the whole journey of handling Bookcon and meeting all of you and more. I hope you guys really stayed and talked with me because one of my favorite aspects of being an author is meeting people who like to read, write, or even just enjoy talking! I know I have trouble keeping my mouth shut ;)

There's very few words that can describe the magic of bookcon and my experience there with J.L. Willow. I met so many great authors, people, artists, booksellers, and bloggers! Each and every person was different than the other, in all of the right ways. I got to hear so many stories, so many lives, in just two days....Can we go back?

I really hope to go next year, especially with the same author in crime! But both Julia and I are starting college and that could be a slight hinderence on the planning and organizing aspect of that convention, but I think we could make it work.

AS FOR BOOK NEWS:

My first book will be out and available for two years this December, which is crazy and exhilarating...I can barely believe it.

But I need to admit that is getting a facelift, an update, a refresh. The fact of the matter is I wrote this book when I was 15. It's been a long process of learning through publishing and I've grown so much as a person but also as an author. (So for any of you who have purchased my books and read my books do not think you got the short end of the stick, do not think I gave you an unfinished product, because I haven't. I have given you all a piece of my heart. A story that's lived in my soul.

This March when I was approached by an amazing young woman named Danielle Drenth, you all may know her from her instagram account @yaallegiance, she mentioned possibly doing literary publicist work for me. She's my best friend, my partner in crime, my ride or die, and I couldn't be more exuberant about having her in my corner working with me! But she gave me an opportunity I couldn't ignore.

She told me that my books can be immediately printed and sold into Barnes and Noble stores. I could do my own booksignings and panels or even sit alongside well-known authors to sign books in those very stores! It's exciting and scary, but she gave me an option.

Danielle told me we could do it right now (in March) or we can wait. I thought on this for awhile and came to the decision that I wanted her to wait because for a long time I have wanted to rewrite the first book (my very first novel)! I wanted to show people how much I've grown, an even more in-depth look to the A Kingdom of Diamond Antlers world, but a new it'd have to be re-branded under a new name with a new cover and a new face. I was terrified, on the brink of bursting into tears in a public Starbucks, but she agreed. She told me we would make this perfect and with her by my side, in my corner, being my mentor and guide, I know it will be.

Now here we are, months later, and I'm ready to share with you what's coming. The new revitalized and reimagined version of The Rise of Titanium. It's the same story with the same characters but includes more world-building, better character/ relationship development, and more scenes. It's including everything I've learned in the four years since I wrote this book, everything that has made me a better author today.

You don't have to get it. Anyone who has purchased and read my books knows the story, the characters, but if you choose to get this new edition than you'll just see more to the world, the characters, it'll feel brand new!

I'm sorry for any disappointment because that was never my intention. I'm doing this for myself and for you, but let me know what you think! <3

Much love,

-Zachary James


bottom of page