top of page

Hope Middle School Seminar


This morning from 9am until 9:30am I had the pleasure of going to Hope Middle School and speaking to the 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th grade classes. It was a true pleasure being able to meet such truly enthusiastic students who were engaged in learning about me, my writing, and my book and journey. Lia (right) had requested me to come speak to her 6th graders, but that had soon grown to four total grades because the students had learned of my coming and wanted to see and meet me!

My day was a normal start; rolled out of bed with my mom yelling about how we're late and my hair in all crazy directions. I gathered my school stuff because although I was presenting to the students I'm still a high schooler and need to go to my own classes. So after getting quickly dressed and running into the car there was just enough time for coffee- A MUST- and heading to the middle school.

Upon my arrival I was greeted by Lia, a true joy to speak to, her enthusiasm contagious, and the very kind Kevin (right) who is the principal of the school. He was just as excited as the students were! I find the joy and happiness of others truly infectious because that makes speaking to them easier. When people want to listen, talking can be a thousand times less stressful.

As I began telling the kids about who I am and what my book was about, I thought it'd be best to go back to the beginning. Start out my story with my hatred and how it grew into a love and passion. I had some kids who made me laugh when I talked about hating to read and write, their heads couldn't have nodded faster! But as I continued on the students went from being a little skeptical of me to completely eager to ask questions about my process, if I relate to characters, and if my books were going to be a movie! As much as I wish they would be, my only response was no time soon.

When I started to wrap up my speaking the questions kept coming. After learning about my transitions between schools a lot of the kids were curious if I know of their siblings, cousins, or friends which made me happy. I wasn't just some random speaker, but instead a possible friend they wanted to relate further with! I wasn't just a young writer living his dream, but still a geeky fun kid that I always will be! These kids had not only related to me through relatives or their own friends, but they also had their own ideas for stories! When Lia had spoken to the students about maybe having me return for one-on-one sessions- Which was a surprise reveal to me- So many kid's hands had rocketed into the air! The aspiring writers of the room wanted me to come back and show them how I outline, edit, write, and organize everything! Of course my answer was yes because no matter where this leads me in life I want to engage with my readers, and fellow writers alike! Nobody had held my hand through the writing and publishing process, so if I manage to even help or change one kid's life for the better I will be happy with what I've done!

Below are some more photos from the seminar and I'll continue to update ya'll on my writing adventures!

Until next time, X's and O's

-Zachary James

P.S.- this beautiful woman (right-LOL) is a close friend with Heather, the seventh grade teacher who still inspires me on the daily, while also being the best editor on the planet!!!!


bottom of page